NHL Stars win Cup Final with a 7-2 win over Tampa Bay

The New York Rangers have won their fourth straight Stanley Cup, but the New York Islanders won the first round of the playoffs for the third time in four years, a series that was the most closely watched of the postseason.NHL commissioner Gary Bettman announced the result on Twitter at 8:52 p.m.


The Rangers had to win Game 7 to advance to the conference finals.

The Islanders won Game 5 for the first time since 2011, winning 6-4 to earn the series.

The Islanders were up 2-0 at 3:51 of the third period before Henrik Lundqvist made 24 saves to defeat Tampa Bay 2-1.

Isles goalie Anders Lindback made a pair of saves.

Lindback was not eligible for Game 6 because of his suspension.

He made 28 saves.

The Isles won Game 7 in six minutes.

Lindqvist also stopped 32 shots for the Islanders.

He also stopped 23 shots in Game 6 for the Rangers.

The Penguins won the series 2-2.

The Rangers won the Eastern Conference final in 2013 and lost in the Stanley Cup Final in 2014.

The series ended in a 3-2 overtime loss in Game 7.

The series has been replayed every year since the first series between the teams in 2007.